East Coast Bays Rangitoto Island, 1010, New Zealand
Posted on November 18, 2015 / 775 Listing verified as genuine
Listing Type : Destination Info
Item Type :
Location :

East Coast Bays is a series of small suburbs that form the northernmost part of the contiguous Auckland metropolitan area of New Zealand. The suburbs line the northeast coast of the city along the shore of the Hauraki Gulf and Rangitoto Channel. They stretch for nine kilometres from Toroa Point in the north to Castor Bay, Milford, at the northern end of Lake Pupuke. They include, from north to south, Long Bay, Torbay, Browns Bay, Rothesay Bay, Murrays Bay, Mairangi Bay and Campbells Bay.

The area has been governed by the Auckland Council since the Council was created in 2010. It is represented, along with the Hibiscus Coast to the north, by the Hibiscus and Bays Local Board, one of two boards in the Albany ward of Auckland Region. From 1989 to 2010 it was part of North Shore City, until North Shore City Council was merged into the Auckland Council. Prior to the 1989 local body reforms, the area was a city in its own right, known as the City of East Coast Bays.

High schools in the area include Long Bay College and Rangitoto College, the largest high school in New Zealand with over 3,000 students between Year 9 and Year 13 of their schooling (‘Form 3 to Form 7’) attending in 2004.

East Coast Bays is also the name of an electorate from which an MP is elected to serve in the New Zealand Parliament. Its current MP is Murray McCully.

Related Listings